Prof. Dr. Andreas Kablitz

Petrarch-Institute University of Cologne

Andreas Kablitz, born in 1957 in Aachen, studied Romance Languages at the University of Cologne with a scholarship of the renowned *Studienstiftung des Deutschen Volkes*. In 1981, he began to work as research assistant at the University of (West-)Berlin, where he got his Ph. D. with a thesis on Lamartine in 1983. Within three years (supported by a scholarship of the *Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft*), he finished his 'Habilitation', qualifying him to lecture in Romance Languages and Literatures.

In 1989, he started to lecture in Tübingen. In the following year, he received a call to the University of Munich as a full professor and head of the department of Italian Literature, which he accepted. In 1994, he returned to Cologne, where – in addition to his professorial lecturing activities in Romance Philology and Comparative Literature – he is also the director of the Petrarch-Institute, head of the editorial board of the *POETICA*, member of the editorial board of the *Dante Society of America* and of the advisory board of the *Lettere Italiane*. He was for 25 years member of the academic comittee of the Fritz-Thyssen-Stiftung.

Andreas Kablitz was fellow at the Freiburg Institute for Advanced Studies, at the *Käthe-Hamburger-Kolleg Morphomata* in Cologne and at the *IKGF* "Schicksal, Freiheit und Prognose. Bewältigungsstrategien in Ostasien und Europa" in Erlangen. Furthermore, he was visiting professor at the University of Washington and *Conférencier invité* at the Collège de France.

In 1997, he was awarded the Leibniz-Preis of the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft. In 2006, Andreas Kablitz became a member of the Bavarian Academy of Sciences and of the North Rhine-Westphalian Academy of Sciences. In the following year, he became a member of the German National Academy of Sciences (Leopoldina), where he was nominated senator and president of the section for cultural sciences ten years later in 2016. In 2010, he was appointed Commendatore of the *Ordine della Stella della Solidarietà Italiana* by the President of the Italian Republic.